“I’m So Bored” — It’s Not Me, It’s My Brain

The ADHD battle for dopamine

Autumn Seave
3 min readJul 20, 2024
Photo by Harrison Leece on Unsplash

One of the things I have found since I have not been working 4 or 5 days a week is that I am bored more often. I mean, I’m supposed to be writing. That’s why I don’t work at the day job as much as I used to. But boredom overcomes me and I can’t get going!

Everyone feels bored sometimes. So, you know how I feel. Now imagine feeling that ALL THE TIME!

Ok, there are moments when I’m not bored. I’m not bored at work if we’re in the middle of a rush. Some of my co-workers complain when we get slammed but honestly, after we’ve just had a massive seating and we’re just a little understaffed and I’ve had to bust my ass to take care of all the tables that came in (or better yet, a big party that came in without a reservation that I probably complained about), I feel energized and ready to conquer anything.

I’m not bored when I’m shopping or driving and listening to an audiobook. I’m not bored when I have a new video game to play. I’m not bored when I have something challenging to do.

But most of the time, I’m so bored. And that drains my energy and prevents me from starting anything that would cure my boredom.

ADHD boredom is related to dopamine deficiency

--

--